Kaeden

1 Oct

I forgot to post an update after Kaeden’s last appointment, so here is a 2 for 1 🙂

September 28 he saw the Geneticist and Orthopedist at the same time. They both were very impressed with him (isn’t everyone LOL) They said that he is growing along the chart (although he is below the chart) and although they still want to follow him, they dont want to see him again for 2 years!!! That is AMAZING NEWS! We need more check ups like that! I was encouraged!

Then…we went to see the Neurosurgeon. Does it sound like the boost wore out? Well, it did. This is a new doctor that Kaeden has never seen before because his last Neurosurgeon moved onward to bigger pastures (literally, head of something big at Harborview!). Being a teaching hospital we usually see a resident (or student or whatever) before the doctor. This young guy (seriously, probably younger than me), came in the room with really nothing. Said that we probably had all our questions answered by Orthopedics and seemed like he wasn’t sure why we were there. I was shocked, we have never gotten that kind of reception from any department at Children’s hospital. I was ready to meet the dr and hear “see you next year” (or the year after!) Then, we met Dr Browd. He is very nice, but very to the point. He assumed correctly that the last neurosurgeon we saw didn’t really talk that much about Kaeden’s neck, mostly about the cyst (and bone) that we had removed two weeks prior to the last appointment.

Dr Browd said he wants to get an updated CT, the last one was a couple years ago. He said that his biggest concern is the possibility of the vertebrae moving and damaging the spinal cord. I think I probably looked like a deer in the headlights when he mentioned this next part…there is a possibility of him wanting to fuse all of the cervical vertebrae together…huh? No one has EVER mentioned anything remotely close to that before. Everyone has just said that we will keep up with the yearly checks. I guess I never thought beyond that…what are we checking for??? Uninformed parents, apparently. I was blown over. Major surgery, on my baby boy? WHAT? For the first time, I left Children’s hospital discouraged, and completely afraid of the possibilities. November 5th is the day that we have the CT and see Dr Browd again…please pray for God’s will in all of this! Kaeden’s mommy is a little freaked out, I dont know how I am supposed to feel about it, besides freaked out and discouraged.

2 Responses to “Kaeden”

  1. Erin October 5, 2009 at 21:44 #

    First of all, I love your new header 🙂 Secondly, know that your mommy friends are praying for you, and we will be here when and if you need to shed a tear or two. Little Kaeden (and his mommy and daddy) are in good hands…

  2. mom October 9, 2009 at 21:44 #

    first of all I agree with Erin about the Header.
    I think maybe (wishy washy much) that a second opinion may be in order. Fusing the active neck of a three year old? don’t they do that to OLD folks?
    I am hoping I remember that there is a proceedure with a soft fix. please god let it be so. as much as I DISAGREE with any more surgeries on Kaeden…I guess I will have to rely on the intelligence of my grandson’s parents and be wherever, whenever,however etc..they need me to be.
    GO KAEDEN!!
    bowling sounds pretty fun.
    I love those 7lb balls. they fly!!
    (and still I don’t do as well as him)
    thanks for the worms.
    Love and hugs to all

Leave a Reply

