Blahdity Blah blah blah (and 1 month check up day)

15 Jun

(Please excuse the randomness)

Yesterday, Pastor Dean’s message was about “sameness”. I see the value of “sameness” in life. He read us a amazing little blurb from the book “The Soloist” which brought tears to my eyes (now I want to read the book). Yesterday I thought “this is the way to world peace”. The things that we have in common make us one and bring us together. Today, however, I am focused on differences. Today Bristol had her one month well baby check. The last couple days we have been guessing at her weight (we figured about 10 pounds) and talking about how different she is from Kaeden. The things that make them special and unique, individuals. I know what is the same about my children, their looks for starters (especially their noses). But their differences are just as obvious, I can’t help but notice.

At 37 weeks pregnant, we learned that Kaeden had some birth defects, not life threatening, but life changing. Bristol, as far as we know so far, is completely healthy. Kaeden was 6 lbs 13 oz at birth and he did not make it back to birth weight until 3 weeks. Bristol was 7 lbs 14 oz and made birth weight by 10 days! Kaeden was 18.5 inches and Bristol was 20 inches.  At Kaeden’s 1 month check he was 8 lbs 2 oz and 19.5 inches long. Today, Bristol is 10 lbs 14 ounces and 22 inches long. Our big girl is already wearing size 3 months and is ready to go into size 2 diapers. So on and so on.

Our friend has two beautiful daughters, one is petite and the other stalky. At first glance you think they could be twins, but they are 13 months appart. I imagine this is how my children will be. By the time Bristol is 2 or 3 she will be the same size as Kaeden and people will be asking if they are twins. Our family doctor wisely advised that, although you wouldn’t initially think so, it will be easier for Kaeden to have a sister that is taller than a little brother. Boys, Brothers, are more competitive than a brother and a sister are.

Lord, I pray we are always able to see their differences and encourage their individuality and uniqueness.

I am overwhelmed lately with the love flowing out of my heart. My bf’s back in the day and I had a saying (we got it from a Precious Moments coloring book but I just googled it and see that it’s a song, see here for lyrics.) “My Cup Runneth Over”. As a mother, I definitely feel as if my heart is overflowing with love for my children.

cup

Leave a Reply

